Rounds Entered20
Victories in Class0
Victories Overall0
Podia In Class0
Podia Overall0

Ecurie Ecosse


Ecurie Ecosse is perhaps the most historically significant team competing in the British GT Championship. Since returning to top-line sportscar racing in 2012 in partnership with Barwell Motosport, the legendary Scottish squad has won the British GT Drivers' crown (with Marco Attard in 2014) and claimed the Teams' crown with Barwell in 2015.

2016 sees it start a new chapter by running a McLaren 650S GT3 for Alasdair McCaig and Rob Bell.

Ecurie Ecosse was formed in 1951 by Edinburgh accountant David Murray. Under his leadership the team achieved a huge number of international race victories, the most prestigious being overall victory at the Le Mans 24 Hours in 1956, and finishing 1st and 2nd in the same race in 1957. Ecurie Ecosse took the racing world by storm and to this day has an unprecedented reputation as a winning formula.

In 1983 Ecurie Ecosse Association Member and Edinburgh businessman Hugh McCaig took control of the team and lead it on to further great success.

Three Formula One World Champions and every Scottish Formula One winner has raced for Ecurie Ecosse. They were the first privately entered outfit to beat works teams in the British Touring Car Championship. An extraordinary list of legendary drivers have raced for Ecurie Ecosse including Jim Clark, Sir Jackie Stewart, Ian Stewart, Sir Stirling Moss, Sir Jack Brabham, Innes Ireland, Masten Gregory, Roy Salvadori, Richard Attwood, Ron Flockhart, Brian Redman, David Coulthard, Allan McNish, Johnny Dumfries, David Leslie and Tom Walkinshaw. Ecurie Ecosse remains one of the world’s most important and influential teams still in existence, while there are very few still operating today that have such a rich and historical background.
1956: Winners, Le Mans 24 Hours 
1957: Winners and runners-up, Le Mans 24 Hours
1985: Runners-up, C2 World Sportscar Championship
1986: Winners, C2 World Sports Car Championship
1987: Winners, Index Of Performance, Le Mans 24 Hours*
          2nd in class and 8th overall, Le Mans 24 Hours
          Runners-up, C2 World Sportscar Championship
1988: Winners, British Thunder Saloons Championship
1995: Winners, British Touring Car Championship
2013: 3rd, British GT Championship (Teams')
          3rd, European Le Mans Series (GTC)
2014: Winners, British GT Championship (Drivers')
          3rd, British GT Championship (Teams')
          3rd, Blancpain Endurance Series Pro-Am (Teams')
          3rd, Blancpain Endurance Series Pro-Am (Drivers')
2015: Winners, British GT Championship (Teams')
          2nd, British GT Championship (Drivers')
*This is awarded for the best performance in terms of the combination of speed and fuel efficiency.

Latest Round Entered

2014 / 7 Car # 79BMW Z4 GT3Marco Attard Alexander Sims


FounderDavid Murray